FOTD: Reddish-Brown Smoky Eye

DSCN4065 Today I let my husband suggest my make up and he chose a shiny brown smoky eye, so that’s what I did. I’m kinda glad he suggested it, because smoky eyes are not my usual thing, so it’s nice to stretch myself outside of my comfort zone. I really like how the reddish-brown looks with my red glasses, though. reddish brown smoky I kept it light, so it’s pretty wearable, but it took a lot of will power to keep myself from adding a swipe of eyeliner at the end. DSCN4041 Eyes:

  • Hello Waffle Mad as a March Hare
  • Hello Waffle Bach
  • Shiro Doge
  • Stila Bare (from the In the Light Palette)
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden
  • Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Roach
  • Benefit They’re Real Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body Foundation in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Tarte Exposed Blush

Lips:

I primed my lids, then sloppily applied a reddish brown eyeliner all over my mobile lid and along my lower lashes. I blended it out with my smudge brush. Over the top I put Mad as a March Hare a slightly shimmer red-brown. I blended out the crease using Bach, a copper, and applied some along the lower lashes as well. I used a matte skin-colored shadow to blend out the transition shade. Then I applied Doge, a light pinky-tan highlight shade, in the inner corner and along my waterline. I curled my lashes and piled on the mascara. My face make up was the same as always, with a pinky-brown nude blush and With Eyes Unclouded, a brownish red tinted balm, on my lips. I’m glad my husband pushed me to try this, cuz I think it turned out well, but isn’t what I would have chosen on my own. I really love Bach and was glad to use it again, even though I’ve finished up my Musicians collection review. (Swatches from it will be up tomorrow and looks on Friday.) I’m slowly getting used to smoky eyes, although it’s still weird to me to not have a discernable line of liner along my lashes.

Leave a Reply

