FOTD: Gryffindor Red and Gold

DSCN3455bThis is my favorite look from my Musicians Collection review, mostly because it was such a surprise how much I liked it, but also partly because my inner bookworm loves how much it screams Harry Potter. (The rest of the Houses will be coming soon.) I was looking through my stack of sample bags and I thought to myself “oooh, what if I put the red and gold together?” but honestly, I was expecting it be one of those “I tried. I guess I’ll go wash my face now” looks. But I loved it. The formula on these eyeshadows is so good that blending them was a dream, even with a fairly extreme color-switch. Hello Waffle wins for sure.

GryffindorPlus, it encouraged me to break out the red lipstick, and I’m definitely trying to find ways to wear bright lips more often.

DSCN3527Eyes:

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body foundation in N1
  • MAC Skinfinish Natural powder in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Natural Beauty

Lips:

  • MAC Ladybug

I started by priming my lids. Then I placed Vivaldi, a bright sparkly red, along the edge of my outer corner. Usually I work from the inner corners of my eye out when I do my eyeshadow, but because the red is so bright, I thought it would be better to put it on first. Then I used a flat brush to apply Tchaikovsky, a gold, starting at the inner corner and working my way to the red, not going past my crease. I added a little to the inner corner section of my lower lashline as well. At this point I stopped and said “huh, I think this’ll actually work.” Then I patted the excess red off my brush and very, very lightly blended it into the rest of my crease. Then I took a clean blending brush and went back and forth over the area where the red and gold shadows met and along my crease. I mixed Rachmaninoff, a dark matte brown, with Superstar Serum, and used an angled brush to apply it as liner, winging it out on the top, and lightly lining the bottom, skipping the very inner part, and connecting it to the top line at the outer corners. I curled my lashes and applied mascara. At this point, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with the rest of my face, and decided to go all in on the red and finished with red blush and red lipstick.

I love how well this came together, and how blue the red and gold make my eyes look. I’m not quite sure where I would wear this look other than just around the house or with my husband, but I kinda want to find an event for it. Also, now that I’ve created a Gryffindor look, I’m starting a little Harry Potter House Series, so keep your eyes peeled for Ravenclaw, Slytherin and Hufflepuff looks.

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Gryffindor Red and Gold

Leave a Reply

