FOTD: Ravenclaw Blue and Bronze

DSCN4559Ravenclaw time! With book colors! (I don’t get why they changed the bronze to silver for the movies. Yes, blue and silver is pretty. But it’s wrong. And if anyone was going to catch that it’s wrong, it’s bookish Ravenclaws. Nonsense.) I am totally and unapologetically a Ravenclaw for life, and a supporter of the blue and bronze.

RavenclawBecause blue and bronze are not the easiest colors to mix together, I put coppery bronze on the lid and used the blue as liner.

DSCN4483This picture best captures the color of the blue.

DSCN4574

Eyes:

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • MAC Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Blissful

Lips

  • Benefit Dallas gloss

I started by priming both under and over my eyes. I then applied Bartok, a bright copper, all over the mobile lid. I added Belly, a darker copper, to the outer corners and all the way around the crease. I also applied Belly beneath my lower lashes. Then I mixed Hesitant Heroine, a matte bright dark blue, with Superstar Serum to form a paste. I applied it to the upper lashline, winging it out at the corners, and then worked down from the underside of the wing along the lower lashes. I went back in and made sure the connection at the corner was all the way filled in. Then I took a little bit of Treasure Map, a golden bronze, and applied it to my tearducts. I added mascara, a warm coral blush and finished with lip gloss.

I really like how this turned out. Before I added the liner I looked like a crazy person who’d drawn a circle around my eyes with an orange crayon, but the liner really brought it together. It’s not as dramatic as yesterday’s Gryffindor look, but Ravenclaws are less flashy anyways.

Leave a Reply

