FOTD: Hufflepuff Yellow and Black

DSCN4767And now for Hufflepuff. The “we don’t really know what defines you, so no metallics for you” house. This youtube video pretty much sums it up. And also is hilarious. Anyways, basic black and yellow for the Hufflepuffs. Nice and simple.

HufflepuffI really like the way the yellow brings out the blue of my eyes. Plus it makes me feel super cheery and smiley (although that might also have been caused by thinking “I can’t digest lactose. I’m a Hufflepuff!” Seriously, go watch the video).

DSCN4690Eyes:

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • MAC Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer
  • Shiro1-Up blush

Lips:

I started by priming my eyes and patting Dandelion, a bright yellow, all over my lid. Next I took Cornucopia, a goldenrod yellow, and applied it to the outer part of my crease using an angled brush. To keep it Hufflepuff, try to use something that’s not too metallic/gold. You want to read yellow. Then I drew a winged line on my upper lashes. I used a liner brush to apply Bloody Awful Poet, a matte black to my lower lashline. Then I added mascara, but it didn’t look finished, so I used my angled brush to apply some Cornucopia underneath the wing and the outer corner of the lower lashline. I did my face make up as usual, with peachy pink blush and corally pink tinted balm.

I liked this more than I thought I would. The yellow is bright and cheery and looks great with blue eyes, and I always love a clean winged liner. The simplicity seems very Hufflepuff-appropriate. I really liked the way Bloody Awful Poet worked on the lower lashline. I might have to start using shadow instead of liner on my lower lashes more often.

Leave a Reply

