Mainstream Monday: Naked 3’s Mauvey Pinks

DSCN5021So far on this blog, I’ve stuck entirely to looks that use indie make up, at least for the eyes. However, I do own a bunch of mainstream eyeshadow palettes from the days before I toppled into the indie rabbit hole. So I figured on Mondays (or at least some Mondays), I’d use them to create looks. A lot of my mainstream palettes lend themselves to more neutral, work-appropriate looks, so Mondays are fitting for that. And also, alliteration is fun.

Naked3For this look, I used some of the pinky-grey colors from my Naked 3 palette.

DSCN5047Eyes:

  • Urban Decay Burnout (from the Naked 3 Palette)
  • Urban Decay Nooner (from the Naked 3 Palette)
  • Urban Decay Liar (from the Naked 3 Palette)
  • Urban Decay Darkside (from the Naked 3 Palette)
  • Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Darkside
  • Lorac Behind the Scenes primer
  • Maybelline Great Lash

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Blushing Bride

Lips:

  • MAC Viva Glam V

For this, I primed my eyes like usual. I applied Burnout, a shimmery pink, all over the lid with the fluffier side of the palette’s included brush. Then, using the flat side of the brush, I applied Nooner, a matte mauve-pink, in a thin line directly in the crease. Using the fluffy side again, I applied Factory, a shimmery grey-pink, to the outer corner above the crease. I lined my upper and lower lashes with pencil liner in Darkside, a pearl purple-grey, and smudged over it with the corresponding eyeshadow color from the palette, using the flat side of the brush. I also agled the shadow up at the outer corners into subtle mini-wings. I used a blending blush to lessen any harsh edges. I applied mascara, foundation, concealer, powder, a purplish pink blush and a nude-pink lipstick and was done.

Not the world’s most interesting look, but wearable and pretty in a simple way. I like the subtlety of the grey-pink combo. Naked 3 was a palette I held off on for a long time, because I thought I wouldn’t like the pinks. But it turns out I actually love pink eyeshadow with my blue eyes, and so I’m really glad I picked it up. Also, I picked it up as a little reward present for finishing my first half-marathon, so whenever I use it, I remember running it and feel accomplished.

What are your guys thoughts on mainstream make up? Do you still use yours from your pre-indie days? How often? I think if I wasn’t doing these Mainstream Monday posts, I would just about never reach for mine anymore.

Leave a Reply

