FOTD: Red and Pink Valentine’s Day Look

DSCN4964Valentine’s Day seems like the perfect time to continue my love affair with red eyeshadow. In keeping with the theme, I paired it with pink and white, to be pretty and romantic. Or like a sparkly fifth grade Valentine card. Or something. Valentines2The colors worked really well together to form a nice gradient. DSCN5008Eyes:

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Adored

Lips:

I started by covering my mobile lids with NYX Milk pencil and blending it up to my eyebrows using my finger. Then I patted Cake, a shimmery white, onto the inner part of each lid. I added Punch Punch Pork, a shimmery pink, to the outer part of each lid, and blended the two together with a clean blending brush until I had a smooth gradient. Then I applied What’s This Lever Do?, a shimmery warm red, to the outer portion of the crease, fanning it up and out a little. I blended it down into the pink, until the transition between the two colors was smooth. I applied some more cake underneath the browbone and in the inner corner as well. I lined my upper lashes with winged black liquid liner and my lower lashes with black pencil liner. I smudged the pencil with a brush. I mixed a tiny bit of What’s This Lever Do? with Superstar Serum and used it to line my lower waterline, to bring out the red of the look a little bit more. Then I curled my lashes, applied my mascara and did my usual face make up. I used a pink blush with silver shimmer and used a lip brush to apply a thin layer of Who Swallowed a Star, a bright red-pink tinted balm.

I’m surprised at how subtle the red liner on the lower lash line was. It brought out the red of the eyeshadow (which had been reading as dark pink before I added it as liner), and didn’t make me look like my eyes were bleeding. (Non-bleeding eyes are always a plus for a date night look.) I think the black eyeliner beneath helped keep it from being too dramatic. Another win for red eyeshadow!

Do you have any fun Valentine’s Day plans? What make up are you planning to wear?

Leave a Reply

