FOTD: Brown with a Pop of Teal

DSCN5119So this is kind of ridiculous, but honestly the color of eyeshadow I’m least comfortable using is… brown. I know it’s a neutral and basic and supposed to be easy, but I’m always confused by what to do with it. Super bright colors? Sure thing. I’m even growing to love some of the ones I thought would look terrible on me before I tried them. (I’m looking at you, red and yellow.) But brown? What am I supposed to do with that? I confessed my hesitance on one of my indie subreddits and someone suggested I try brown on the upper eyelid with a color on the lower lashline to sort of ease myself into the world of browns. So I did. And following upon Thursday’s Jupiter Rain post, it was the color I reached for.

brown with pop of teal I think it turned out okay, but I’m not ready to jump on the brown bandwagon just yet. Although, the longer I have it on my face, the more I like it. It’s growing on me.

DSCN5137Eyes:

  • Fyrinnae Bawdy Librarian
  • Hello Waffle Rachmaninoff
  • Notoriously Morbid Jupiter Rain
  • Stila Wind (from the In the Know palette)
  • Darling Girl Superstar Serum
  • Lorac Behind the Scenes primer
  • Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Dark Brown
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer
  • MAC Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Benefit Sugarbomb blush

Lips:

  • Bite High Pigment Pencil in Sable

For this look, I started with primer and then applied Bawdy Librarian, a medium brown with gold sparkle, all over my mobile lid. I used Rachmaninoff, a darker matte brown, to extend the outer corner into a mini cat eye shape and blended it into the other brown. I used face lotion on a q-tip to tidy up the edge. Then I used a matte peach from the edge of the brown up to my eyebrow. I lined my upper lashes with a dark brown liquid liner, following the bottom edge of the eyeshadow cat eye. Then I mixed Jupiter Rain, a sparkly teal, with Superstar Serum and applied it to my lower lashline. I finished with mascara and finished the rest of my make up like usual, with pretty neutral blush and lipstick.

Bawdy Librarian is a color I got as a free sample when I bought my pixie epoxy. It’s not a color that I would have chosen for myself, given my feelings towards brown, but it does have a pretty glow to it and the formula is interesting in a good way. I’m looking forward to finding other ways of using it, because for now it’s the only Fyrinnae eyeshadow I own.

What about you? Do you have eyeshadow colors that intimidate you? Or if you’re on team I-know-how-to-use-brown, how do you use it?

Leave a Reply

