FOTD: Sparkly Plum Smoky Eye

DSCN5197Over on Reddit, /u/kangarew4258 posted a tutorial on using a glitter fixative to do a smoky eye. She did hers using a gorgeous blue shadow, but I was in the mood for something a little less intense, so I went with plum. Both of the colors I used are from Hello Waffle’s 1000 Likes collection. It was so easy and turned out so well! This may well become my go-to smoky eye technique, and I’m definitely going to try it again with a brighter color soon.

plum smoky eyeI love it! I think is my favorite smoky eye yet.

DSCN5221It makes for great glasses make up too.

DSCN5220

Eyes:

  • Hello Waffle One of Us!
  • Hello Waffle 23
  • Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy
  • Lorac Behind the Scenes primer
  • Sephora Collection Black Lace eyeliner
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Benefit Boi-ing concealer in 1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Tarte Exposed

Lips:

  • MAC Viva Glam V

Obviously I followed the tutorial for my eyes. I primed my lids and patted Pixie Epoxy on top and waited for it to get tacky, then I patted One of Us!, a sparkly plum, all over my lid, up slightly past the crease so it would show up when my eyes are open. I used a pencil brush to put some on the lower lashline as well. Then I used a round blending brush to blend 23, a rose gold, along the edge of the plum. I applied some on the lower lashes as well, but I don’t think that was in the tutorial. Then I added black pencil liner and smudges it out with a brush and finished with mascara. The rest of my face was pretty standard, with a double does of undereye concealer.

This was so simple to do. I love using a darker color on the lid and a lighter one to blend out, and the pixie epoxy makes all the sparkles show up, but since it’s just covered by one shadow, it doesn’t make blending hard. I am going to use this technique again in the future for sure. I see myself doing this in lots of different colors.

Leave a Reply

