FOTD: Red and Purple Halo Eye

DSCN5681Next week I’m going to be the guest blogger over on Toxid Lotus, where I’ll be posting ideas on how to use red eyeshadow. This is one of the looks that I did, originally intended for that post, but it didn’t quite turn out how I planned and wound up looking too similar to another one I’d already. So it goes here, as a red eyeshadow post preview! I was inspired by Celadon Alley’s totally awesome red and purple halo eye, but it just didn’t come out as red as I wanted, I think because my hooded lids ate all the color.

red and purple halo eyeSee! Lots of red on my eyelids! It’s just hiding when my eyes are open.

DSCN5655

Eyes:

  • Shiro Unforgettable
  • Shiro Heart Attack
  • Shiro Shinigami
  • Shiro Cake!
  • Stila Wind (from the In the Know palette)
  • Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy
  • Darling Girl Superstar Serum
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Kat Von D Tattoo liner
  • Benefit They’re Real mascara
  • Maybelline Great Lash

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Natural Beauty

Lips:

For this look, I primed my eyes, then applied Unforgettable, a sparkly red, to the middle half of my lid, extending it just past the iris. I added a line of Heart Attack, a magenta-red, on either side of the center dot and traced it carefully in the crease above as well. Then I used a pencil brush to place Shinigami, a darker purple, in the inner and outer corners. I blended all three together, so there were no harsh transitions. Then I carefully added a dot of pixie epoxy to the center of each lid and patted more Unforgettable on top to bring out the sparkles. I mixed some Heart Attack with superstar serum and used it to line my lower waterline. I lined my upper lashes with black liquid liner and applied mascara to both sets of lashes. I applied a little bit of Cake!, a shimmery white with just a hint of red tones, to the inner corner and inner part of the lower lashline. I used a matte peach eyeshadow to highlight below the browbone and to blend out the edges of the darker colors. There was a lot of fallout, so I cleaned it up before I did the rest of my face make up. I used a red blush and applied Who Swallowed a Star, a bright pink-toned red tinted balm, over the top of A Girl and A Cat, a deep purple tinted balm.

I like the way this turned out, it just wasn’t what I thought it would look like. But I’m loving all the red shadow looks I’ve been doing, and I’m super excited for next week’s guest post. A week from today!

Leave a Reply

