FOTD: Monochromatic Monday Metallic Grey

Monochromatic Metallic GreyToday my favorite subreddit, /r/indieislandofmisfits, is doing a monochromatic make up challenge. I decided to join in. Last week when I did my grey and teal smoky eye, I felt like an alien robot, but didn’t exactly look like one. So today I decided to actually do robot make up! Metallic grey and silver for the win!

Monochromatic Metallic Grey collageI’m pale enough that this looks almost Pleasantville-y. I like it. If I owned white powder, I would have used it. I love the black and white picture effect.

DSCN6228

Eyes:

  • Hello Waffle Magic Mirror
  • Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Uzi
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Maybelline Great Lash

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Hello Waffle Eternity (as contour)
  • Hello Waffle Magic Mirror (as blush/highlighter)

Lips:

  • Hello Waffle Machine
  • Lush Honey Trap lip balm

For this, I actually started with my lips. I applied my Lush lip balm and then used a lip brush to pat Machine, a lip safe metallic grey eyeshadow, on top. Next I did my face. I applied my usual foundation and concealer but no powder. I used a contour brush to sweep Eternity, a dark silver-grey, under my cheek bones, and then used a blush brush to apply Magic Mirror, a light sparkly silver to my cheeks. Last, I did my eyes. I primed my lids and applied a light wash of Magic Mirror. I lined my upper and lower lashes with a metallic dark grey pencil and applied mascara. I touched up the middle of my lips where some pink was poking through and called it a day.

I’m super surprised by how much I like the metallic grey lips on me. So much so that I might actually have to hunt down an actual metallic grey lip product. My original idea was to do something more silver, but alas, my bright silver eyeshadows were either not lip-safe or unlabelled as to lip safety and a quick google search didn’t turn up anything, so I moved on to the metallic greys. But it was a happy accident, because I think the darker color is probably more wearable than the silver would have been and I totally love it!

Leave a Reply

