FOTD: My First Attempt at Contouring

DSCN6009Today I attempted to contour. I literally cannot tell any difference, so I think I did it wrong. My face looks exactly the same to me. But my eye makeup is pretty!

Contouring Attempt FOTDI feel like kind of a jerk for using all discontinued eyeshadows, but they’re all pretty easily dupable, I think. Any light gold, medium brown and sparkly dark grey would work.

DSCN6044

Eyes:

  • Shiro Perfect World
  • Shiro Mistrust
  • Shiro Second Kira
  • Darling Girl Superstar Serum
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Maybelline Great Lash

Face:

  • Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream in Light
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Shiro Fatality  Finishing Powder
  • Shiro Revive Blush
  • Nars Laguna Bronzer

Lips:

  • Benefit Rocketpop

I started by priming my lids and applying Perfect World, a light gold, all over my lid. I blended some Mistrust, a medium brown, into the crease. Then I mixed superstar serum with Second Kira, a super sparkly dark charcoal, and applied it as liner with a tiny wing. I curled my lashes, applied mascara and moved on to my face makeup. I was feeling lazy, so I used BB cream instead of foundation, but I still use my undereye concealer (my dark circles have been super bad these days) and set everything with powder. I used Revive, a very pale, shimmery blush, but didn’t feel complete, so I decided to pull out some bronzer. You may have noticed a distinct lack of bronzer in my posts. That’s because I never use it! I wasn’t quite sure what to do, so I used my contour brush to sweep some in a 3 shape around the side of my face and under my cheekbones and blended it out. As far as I can tell, this did nothing. Maybe I looked a little warmer, but my cheekbones did not seem any more defined to me. Oh well. I finished with some cinnamon-rose lipstick and called it a day.

While my contouring was not a success, at least it didn’t look bad! Just not much of anything. On the plus side though, I used some more brown eyeshadow and really felt like me wearing it! Do you guys contour? Any advice?

Leave a Reply

