FOTD: Animate Chess-Piece and Doge Challenge

Doge and Animate Chess PieceNext up in my set of IMAM sample challenge looks is Shiro’s Doge and Hello Waffle’s Animate Chess-Piece, suggested by /u/tippyx. These are two of my favorite colors, but they’re actually quite similar. They both fall into the pale pink-toned sparkly neutral category. So I paired them with a super bright pink lip!

doge and animate chess piece lookPretty and simple. I love looks like this. Sparkly pale eyeshadow, black liner, rosy cheeks and bold lips. I think this is the way to get myself to actually wear my bright lip colors.

Doge and Animate Chess Piece shadowsEyes:

  • Shiro Doge
  • Hello Waffle Animate Chess-Piece
  • Urban Decay Anti-Aging Primer Potion
  • Marc Jacobs Highliner in Blacquer
  • Buxom Lash Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Tarte Cheek Stain in Flush

Lips:

For this I primed my lids and applied Animate Chess-Piece, a sparkly pale pink with a violet sheen, all over my lid. I put Doge, a slightly darker champagne pink, in the outer part of my crease and up to my brow. I blended them together, even though they’re super close to the same color. I lined my eye with a black gel pencil liner, curled my lashes and applied mascara on both my upper and lower lashes. I did my face make up like usual and used a berry color gel-stick blush, which I rubbed in with my fingers. I finished it off with Visual Kei, a bright pink lip lustre, applied with the doe foot.

All in all, I love this look. I wouldn’t have thought to do a look like this with two eyeshadows that are so similar in color, but it gives it just a bit more depth and interest than a one color wash, so I’m glad I did! Plus, I’m slowly acclimating myself to bold lips. Progress!

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Animate Chess-Piece and Doge Challenge

    1. In theory, yes it was the eyeshadow that was the starting point for this, but they were both so neutral I wanted to include something more exciting! And Visual Kei is so birght it’s hard for it not to take over. :)

Leave a Reply

