FOTD: Neutral Eyes and Pygmy Hippo Lips

pygmy hippoI finally have a haul! Which means new things to play with! While I have about a billion new eyeshadow samples, I’m most excited to have my Lip Lustre minis. So far my only indie lip colors have been my Shiro tinted balms, so it’s great to finally have something more pigmented to play with. So I’ve been using them all week. I paired the first few with My Pretty Zombie’s WTF shadows, and the neutral eyes make the lip colors shine. This was my favorite look from that post, so it gets its own!

T lookThe eyeshadows are from My Pretty Zombie and I love them!

T shadowsEyes:

  • My Pretty Zombie W
  • My Pretty Zombie T
  • My Pretty Zombie F
  • Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Black
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion in Anti-Aging
  • Maybelline Great Lash

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Shiro Potion

Lips:

I primed my eyes and then swept T, a neutral taupe/tan, across the lid. I worked F, a shimmery grey, into my crease. I used W, a shimmery white, as my highlight shade in the inner corners. I did my face make up as usual and used a berry blush. I applied Pygmy Hipp, a mauvey lip lustre, to my lips with the doefoot applicator. I used the point to define the outline of my lips and the side to fill them in, which worked pretty well. I also made sure there wasn’t too much product on the applicator first.

I was really excited to finally try the lip lustres. The colors are corgeous, they’re super pigmented and while the application takes some figuring out, I think I’ve got it down. They also fade beautifully and evenly, and still looked good after a meal. Pygmy Hippo is one of those colors you hear about all the time, and I was happy to try it out. It wound up being a bit darker and more purpley on me than I’d expected, but I really like it.

Do you have any of Fyrinnae’s lip lustres? Which color’s your favorite? Any tips on how to apply them?

4 thoughts on “FOTD: Neutral Eyes and Pygmy Hippo Lips

  1. Hi Was talking to jonlee & she’d seen your grad school announcement on FB & asked how you were doing & I mentioned your blog Ooops – sorry

    She said she’s the only one who wears makeup daily – so she was interested in seeing it Mom

Leave a Reply

