FOTD: African Pygmy Kingfisher

pygmy kingfisher 1The next predatory animal my husband choose for my animal series is the African Pygmy Kingfisher. It’s so tiny and cute and adorable it’s hard to believe it’s a predator. It’s also super colorful, so this look was a lot of fun.

Pygmy Kingfisher closeup labelledI was definitely surprised at how wearable this wound up, given the colors of the bird.

pygmy kingfisher 2 I probably wouldn’t have chosen orange, purple and blue together without the inspiration, but I like it! I definitely see myself doing more bird-inspired looks in the future.

pygmy kingfisher shadowsEyes:

  • Shiro Team Rocket
  • Hello Waffle Mad
  • Hello Waffle Golden Stairs
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Ultraviolet
  • NYX Milk
  • Benefit They’re Real Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Shiro 1-Up (I think. I forgot to write it down.)

Lips:

I started by covering my entire eye area with NYX Milk pencil and blending it out with my finger. Then I applied Mad, a light yellowy orange, to my mobile lid. I used a tiny brush to carefully apply a thin layer of Team Rocket, a bright pink-toned purple, to the outer part of my crease. I blended carefully. Then I highlighted my inner corner with Golden Stairs, a peachy gold shade. I lined my upper lashes heavily with Ultraviolet pencil liner, a super bright shimmery blue. I lined my lower waterline as well, stopping before my tear duct. I curled my lashes and applied mascara. I did my face like usual, with a peachy blush and a light orange tinted balm.

I was honestly surprised at how well this turned out. The lid colors were lighter than I expect them to be, but that actually helped balance out the super bright liner. Plus now I know a type of super cute bird I’d never heard of before! Have you ever done bird-inspired make up? What’s your favorite bird?

2 thoughts on “FOTD: African Pygmy Kingfisher

Leave a Reply

