FOTD: I Call It Mr. Pointy and Mockingjay Challenge

mr. pointy mockingjay 1My next look from the IMAM sample challenge is pretty cool because it combines two different shadows named after two things I love, Buffy and the Hunger Games. /u/gossipbomb suggested I use Shiro’s Mockingjay and Notoriously Morbid’s I Call It Mr. Pointy together, “because girl power!” So I did. Plus, gold a red go great together, so it was super easy to do! Kind of a bronzey burgundy version of my Gryffindor look.

mr. pointy mockingjayI really like it! Although it’s rainy season now and the sun doesn’t like me anymore, so for the next couple months my pictures are gonna be a little dark and grey.

mr. pointy mockingjay shadowEyes:

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Tarte Exposed

Lips:

  • Benefit Rocketpop

I primed my eyes and applied Mockingjay, a bronzey gold, all over my lid flaring it out at the outer corners. I blended out the edges with a clean brush. I put the tiny bit leftover on my brush on my lower lashline as well. Then I applied I Call It Mr. Pointy, a matte burgundy, to the outer corners, over the gold, and blended it inwards along the crease and down towards the lash line. I applied black winged liner and mascara and did my face like usual. I used cinnamon colored blush and lipstick to finish it off.

I really like this. I keep thinking the colors are Buffy and Katniss themed, but I Call It Mr. Pointy is actually a reference to Kendra, the other slayer, and her lucky stake. Nonetheless, it’s fun to use shadows named after kickass heroines. It’s a really autumnal look that I might pull out again when fall gets here!

 

2 thoughts on “FOTD: I Call It Mr. Pointy and Mockingjay Challenge

Leave a Reply

