FOTD: A Tight Dress and Shoes to Kill For Challenge

red halo lookFor the next IMAM challenge pairing, I got Hello Waffle’s A Tight Dress and Notoriously Morbid’s Shoes to Kill For. Since one’s a bright red and the other’s a dark purple, I decided to have another go at a red and purple halo eye.

red halo 1My new halo eye technique is definitely working better than my old one.

red halo glassesUnfortunately when I put my glasses on, they hide the red pretty much entirely. Until I blink. Then BAM!

red halo shadowsEyes:

  • Notoriously Morbid Shoes to Kill For
  • Hello Waffle A Tight Dress
  • Shiro Shinigami
  • Stila Bliss
  • Stila Bare
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Sephora Collection Black Lace Eyeliner
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Tarte Natural Beauty

Lips:

  • Urban Decay Naked lipstick

I recently discovered a new halo eye technique, which I really like. I started by applying a transition color (I used a dusty rose-brown) in the crease on my primed lids. Then I patted Shinigami, a sparkly purple, onto the inner and outer thirds of my eye. I used a pencil brush and applied A Tight Dress, a dark purple, to further darken the outer and inner corners. I also put some on the outer and inner thirds of my lower lashline as well. Next I put some Shinigami into the gap in the middle of the lower lashline. Then I carefully patted Shoes to Kill For, a bright sparkly red, into the middle of each eyelid. I dab a tiny bit over the purple in the center of the lower lashline as well. Then I blended. I tried to make a smooth transitions between the two purples but keep the red from getting muddied. In the spirit of full disclosure, I blended the shadow up way too high and needed to clean up the edges with some lotion and a q-tip. So I went back over my crease with the same transition color I’d used before. I also applied a matte skintone shade below my browbone. I lined my eyes with black pencil liner, curled my lashes and applied mascara. I did my face like always, used a little bit of red blush and finished it off with a nude lipstick.

All in all, I’m really happy with this look. This is what I was going for last time I tried to do a red and purple halo eye. I think using a super bright, almost pink toned red with a darker purple helped, because there was such a strong difference between the red and the purple.

Leave a Reply

