FOTD: Brown Monochromatic Dare

brown dare lookOver on IMAM, I started an Indie Truth or Dare thread, where everyone could ask for a truth or a dare and get asked a questions or challenged to do a look. I wound up getting three dares, which I combined into this one triple dare look. /u/undiestakr dared me to choose my least favorite eyeshadow color and do a monochrome look with it, /u/eraser_dust (of Working with Monolids) dared me to wear a lip safe eyeshadow as a lip color and /u/sierrahraine dared me to do an ombre lip. So I decided to do a monochrome look using my least favorite eyeshadow color on my eyes and as an ombre lip. My first instinct when I thought “least favorite eyeshadow color” was blue, but blue’s actually a color. Brown doesn’t even have that going for it. So it gets the place of honor as my least favorite just through sheer boringness.

brown dare 1All in all, I was happy with how my look turned out, although the lips weren’t quite as ombre as I was hoping for.

brown dareEyes:

  • Hello Waffle Bach
  • Hello Waffle Rachmaninoff
  • Hello Waffle Phillip
  • Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Twice Baked
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Tarte Exposed
  • Hello Waffle Bach (as blush)
  • Hello Waffle Phillip (as contour)

Lips:

  • Hello Waffle Phillip
  • Hello Waffle Bach
  • Lush Honey Trap

As always I primed my lids first. Then I patted Bach, a reddish brown all over my lids. I applied Phillip, a darker brown, to the outer corner and flared it up a bit. I also put some on my lower lashline. Then I deepened the outer V with Rachmaninoff, a matte dark brown. I lined my eyes with shimmery brown liner, curled my lashes and applied lots of mascara. Then I did my foundation, concealer and powder. I applied a light reddish brown blush to my cheeks and used a blush brush to tap some Bach over the top to darken it. I applied Phillip as a contour and blended it out with a clean brush. Then I did my lips. I started by applying a thick layer of waxy balm. Then I patted Phillip on with an eyeshadow brush, concentrating on the outer edges of my lips. I patted Bach onto the middle of my lips and tried to blend the two together. I used my finger to pat a little more into the very center of my lower lip. I used a q-tip to clean up the edges.

I’m discovering that I really like darker metallic eyeshadows on my lips. Both this and the grey I did in February turned out to be colors I really liked on me. I felt surprisingly sophisticated wearing this. Plus, the homemade lip color held up shockingly well through a meal. I had some pesto pasta and expected it to be gone when I was done, but it still looked presentable. I was impressed.

Also, the mods of IMAM liked the Indie Truth or Dare idea so much that they’ve decided to make it recur monthly! I’m looking forward to more make up dares in the future.

 

4 thoughts on “FOTD: Brown Monochromatic Dare

    1. I’m pretty much obsessed with using dark, slightly unconventional metallic eyeshadows as lip colors. I’m always skeptical and then put it on and love it. I see some Shiro custom glosses in my future.

Leave a Reply

