FOTD: Darling Girl’s Springy Pastels

squat and cough Each month Darling Girl has a looks contest on their Facebook group, where everyone creates a look around a specific theme using Darling Girl colors. For April, the theme is spring, with soft and sparkly colors, and this is the look I did for it. I’m really digging the springtime pastels these days.

squat and cough 1 To make the look a little more interesting, I used a different color for the lower waterline and inner corner, which is a fun pop of (very pale) color.

squat and cough shadowEyes:

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Benefit Dandelion

Lips:

  • MAC Patisserie
  • Benefit Dandelion Lip Gloss

I primed my lids like usual and then applied Pixie Epoxy with my pinkie. I waited 15-20 seconds for it to set and then patted Squat and Cough, a sparkly lavender pink, all over my lids. I deepened the outer corner with Break the Internet, a matte peachy brown. I used a tiny brush to apply Taystee Girl, a pastel blue with a pinkish sheen, to my lower waterline. I used the same brush to apply Bubbles, a light tan with a blue green sheen, to the inner corner. Then I lined my eyes with black liner, curled my lashes and applied mascara. I did my face makeup with pink blush, nude lipstick and pink gloss.

I’m really happy with this look. I really like Break the Internet as a deepening color, the look became so much more together once I added it. I’m definitely considering picking up a mini next time I order from Darling Girl. Also, I absolutely love the Marc Jacobs eyeliner, which is different than my numerous other black eyeliners because it’s a gel in pencil form and gives a very clean looking line. I use it when I want a similar look to liquid liner but no wing. It’s super easy to apply and I think it looks fantastic. However, it’s also horrendously expensive. Mine right now is a mini size that I got in an eyeliner sampler from Sephora and I hate that I like it enough that I’m debating actually buying one. Stupid fancy pants brands and their high quality making me want them. Anyways, I like it. But I’m definitely going to use up every last millimeter of my mini before I decide whether I want to replace it.

Do you ever fall in love with ridiculously expensive products you get samples of? How often do samples convince you to buy larger sizes?

Leave a Reply

