FOTD: Green and Blue Earth Day Look

earth day big

My final IMAM sample challenge came from /u/smilingsunbeams, aka Crimson and Clovher, who suggested I use Notoriously Morbid’s Hesitant Heroine and Hello Waffle’s Beneath Oxfordshire together. Since they’re both such intense colors, I set them aside while I worked through the rest of my challenge pairings. Then it occurred to me that Earth Day was coming up. Green and blue would be perfect for an Earth Day look.

Earth Day 1 I used a similar technique to the one I learned from Crimson and Clovher’s Queen of Hearts Tutorial and used Pixie Epoxy to make the green pop in the inner corner.

earth day 2 Close up of the blue-green goodness.

earth day shadowEyes:

  • Notoriously Morbid Hesitant Heroine
  • Hello Waffle Beneath Oxfordshire
  • Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy
  • Darling Girl Superstar Serum
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Buxom Lash Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Shiro Revive
  • Nars Laguna

Lips:

  • Benefit Hoola Lip Gloss

To start, I primed my lids, including under my lower lashline. I patted Hesitant Heroine, a bright matte blue, all over my lids, flaring it up at the outer corners. Hesitant Heroine is a surprisingly buildable shadow, so I made sure the color was the most concentrated nearest to my lashes and more diffused up by my crease. I also applied some along my lower lashline and connected it at the outer corners. I lightly dabbed at the edges with the last of the shadow on my brush so that the edges of the blue faded gracefully. Then I used my pinkie to dab some Pixie Epoxy onto the inner third or so of my eyelids. After it set, I patted Beneath Oxfordshire, a shimmery forrest green, on top with a fluffy brush. I patted around the edges until the colors looked blended. I also applied a little to my inner corner/tear duct area. I mixed a bit with Superstar Serum and applied it to my waterline with an eyeliner brush as well. I curled my lashes and applied mascara to both my upper and lower lashes. Then I cleaned up the fall out. (And my lord was there a lot of fall out from Hesitant Heroine. Pretty much my whole face was covered in blue blotches. I needed make up remover, tissues and several q-tips to remove it all.) I did my foundation, concealer and powder and then used a very pale shimmery blush and lightly contoured with bronzer. I finished with a golden gloss.

I really like these types of smoky intense looks and I think it’s neat to have shimmer at the inner corner over a matte base, so I’m glad the technique is a part of my repertoire now. The green and the blue blended into each other surprisingly well, and definitely had the sort of globe-y vibe I was going for. The combination also made my eyes look more blue-green than their usual straight blue, which I thought was neat. Definitely a success!

Are you doing anything to celebrate/recognize Earth Day today?

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Green and Blue Earth Day Look

Leave a Reply

