FOTD: Darling Girl Lucky

lucky big Darling Girl has a collection of Rainbow Brite shadows, which are white with different color sparkle, designed to really pop over a black base. I have samples of two of them, and today I decided to try out Lucky, a turquoise/green shade.

Lucky look To really test out the dual nature of this shadow, I applied it both over primer on my lid and over black eyeliner.

lucky shadowEyes:

  • Darling Girl Lucky
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Perversion
  • Sephora Collection Outrageous Curl Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Benefit Boi-ing Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Bare Minerals Beauty Blush

Lips:

  • MAC Sea Sheer

I started by priming my lids, then I used a black pencil liner to draw a thick line along my upper lashes. I patted Lucky, a sparkly shadow that looks white but is actually green, over the top. I concentrated the color on the top of the liner, but extended it up to my crease, where I blended it out with a clean brush. I used a liner brush to apply some on my lower water line as well. I curled my lashes and applied mascara. They was tons of glittery fallout, so I cleaned it up with some make up remover and did my face make up, blush and lipstick.

I think the two-in-one nature of this shadow is pretty cool, although I wish it showed up a teensy bit better over a nude base. But it really does make an amazing color over a black base, and I’m pretty sure that’s how I’ll mostly use it. Plus, I have a soft spot for Rainbow Brite, so it reminds me of my childhood, which is fun too. (And my not-so-childhood as well. Last time I visited my sister, we definitely had a nostalgia night where we ate too much candy and watched Rainbow Brite.)

Do you have any make up themed after things you loved as a kid? Were you into Rainbow Brite, like I was? Indigo was by far my favorite, and so the Indigo color was other other shade I picked up. I’m looking forward to trying it out.

Leave a Reply

