FOTD: Yellow Blush

yellow blush bigIn my order from Baroque, Andi included her yellow blush, Klimt Eastwood, as my free sample. Yellow blush is one of those things that I probably wouldn’t have bought on my own, but since I have it I wanted to try it out. And you know what? It’s not bad.

yellow blush lookI think it winds up looking like more of an apricot than a yellow once it’s on my face, so I paired it with some similar apricot eyeshadows.

yellow blush productsEyes:

  • Aromaleigh Amelie
  • Hello Waffle Summertime
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Intense Black
  • Buxom Lash Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Baroque Klimt Eastwood

Lips:

  • Life’s Entropy Recursion
  • NYX Wonder Pencil in Light

I started by priming my lids and then applied Amelie, a light shimmery peach to the mobile lid. I used an angled brush to place Summertime, a darker yellowish peach, in the outer portion of the crease and blended in down and in. I applied winged black liner on my upper lashline and black pencil liner on my lower lashline. I put a little more Summertime below my lower lashes as well. Then I curled them and applied mascara to both my upper and lower lashes. I did my foundation, concealer and powder like usual. I tapped some Klimt Eastwood, a yellow blush, out onto a piece of mirror and used my contour brush to pick some up, since it’s smaller and more precise than my blush brush. I applied it to my cheeks and blended it out with a clean blush brush. Then I lined around the outside of my lips with a skintoned pencil and blended it out with my finger. I used a lip brush to apply Recursion, a bright orangey red lip theory, to finish the look.

I was pleasantly surprised at how peachy Klimt Eastwood turned when applied. Even though it’s definitely a goldenrod yellow powder, the natural color of my cheeks shows through a little and makes it look more like a light orange. I like it. I could see myself using it again. If I wanted to make this look monochromatic, I’d swap out the Lip Theory for Shiro’s apricot Come Out, Come Out balm, which I think would match the blush perfectly.

Have you ever tried any unusual blush colors?

Leave a Reply

