FOTD: Blackbird’s Feminine Pinks

pink blackbird big I was in the mood for a simple kind of looks today, so I figured I’d try some of my new Blackbird shadows. I was also feeling a little bit girly, so I went for the pink ones.

pink blackbird look To keep it soft I used grey eyeliner. I love grey eyeliner. I should wear it more often.

pink blackbird shadowEyes:

  • Blackbird Immortals
  • Blackbird Imogen
  • Blackbird Vintage
  • Stila Smudgestick in Halfmoon
  • Buxom Lash Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Shiro Potion

Lips:

  • Fyrinnae Ocelot

Since mattes can be tricky over primer, I tested Imogen out on my arm over primer and over bare skin before I started. I liked it better on bare skin, so I skipped the primer for this look. I started by applying Immortals, a matte light pink, to the inner half of my lids. I applied Imogen, a matte medium pink, to the outer half and blended the two together. Then I placed Vintage, a darker matte pink with a touch of purple, in the outer V and crease using a thin angled brush. I put some under my lower lashes as well. I used a clean blending brush to blend everything together. I lined my eyes with grey pencil liner, curled my lashes and put on mascara. I did my usual face stuff, and finished with look with Potion, a plummy pink blush, and Ocelot, a light pink lip lustre, which I applied with the doe foot.

I really liked how soft and pretty this look came out. The soft pinks remind me of some of the looks I used to do with my Naked 3 palette, but Blackbird’s are a little bit cooler and matte instead of shimmery. I’m looking to trying out more all matte neutral looks with the rest of my blackbird colors. Usually I use mattes as support shades for my shimmery shadows, so it was a nice change to let them stand on their own.

Do you do all matte looks? What matte formula is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

