FOTD: Elegant Evening Look with Mulberry Lips

mulberry passion big 2When I swatched Kae Q’s Mulberry, I knew it called for a simple, but sophisticated eye look, so the focus could stay on the lips. Looking around my make up table, Notoriously Morbid’s Passion caught my eye. I opened up the jar and realized there were the most lovely little warm sparks in a cool grey base. I’d found the shadow for the look. Simple, but with a little something special.

mulberry passion lookI feel like I should be wearing an elegant gown and going to a fancy event. But with neater hair.

mulberry passion shadowEyes:

  • Notoriously Morbid Passion
  • Stila Smoke (In the Know Palette)
  • Stila Air (In the Know Palette)
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Urban Decay 24/6 Liner in Crave
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Tarte Exposed

Lips:

  • Kae Q Mulberry

I started by priming my lids like usual. I applied Passion, a sparkly cool grey with a ton of tiny sparks, all over my lids. I used a darker matte grey shadow to deepen my crease and a soft white matte shadow to highlight my brown bone. I lined my eyes with a dark brown pencil liner and smudges it with a brush. I curled my lashes and put on mascara. I did my face like usual and applied a little bit of pinky tan blush to my cheeks. I finished by putting on Mulberry, a deep warm berry red, to my lips using a doefoot applicator.

I was expecting Mulberry to be a bit cooler toned than it actually is, but I really like it. So far it’s my favorite of the darker beso balms, because it’s formula doesn’t get streaky and I think it’s a really flattering color for my complexion. It’s just dark enough to read as deep without being full on vampy, and I can see myself wearing it a bunch.

Also, just a heads up that my camera died, so I won’t be able to take pictures and post new looks until I get it replaced. I tried using my ipod and it just did not work. So there’ll probably be a little break in my posting schedule.

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Elegant Evening Look with Mulberry Lips

Leave a Reply

