FOTD: Sunshiney Look with Kae Q and Baroque

Sunshine bigBaroque and Kae Q, two of my favorite indie brands share an anniversary. Instead of competing with each other, they decided to team up and do a joint sale. Today and tomorrow you can get 20% off at either site with the code SUNSHINE. To kind of dorkily celebrate their anniversaries, I decided to do a sunshine themed look, using Baroque and Kae Q products.

Sunshine lookBoth shops carry yellow-orange products, and if you by one in a fullsize you get a coupon for the other shop that’s good for the next month (or so? I’m not quite sure). From Baroque, it’s their Kilmt Eastwood blush, which I used on both my eyes and cheeks in this look. From Kae Q it’s Carambola, a sheer lip color.

sunshine shadowsEyes:

Face:

Lips:

I primed my eyes like always and then I patted Klimt Eastwood, a yellow orange blush, all over my lids. I added Walking on Air, a peachy light orange, to the outer corner, blending it into the yellow and blowing it out a little. I used a liner brush to apply She Likes My SPARK, a shimmery copper orange, below my lower lashes. I used black liquid liner and winged it out for my upper lashline. I used a black pencil liner to lightly line my lower lashes. I actually forgot to apply mascara. Oops. Then I did my foundation/concealer/powder thing. I applied Mucha Ado About Nothing, a reddish rose, to my cheeks. I used a contour brush to apply Klimt Eastwood above it, kind of like a yellow highlighter on the tops of my cheeks, and blended it down to form a slight gradient. I finished off with Mamey, a muted salmon balm, which I applied with a doe foot applicator.

I’m really happy with how this turned out. It’s been grey here for weeks on end (it’s Southern Hemisphere winter, after all), so it was nice to do something cheery and warm.

This post is not in any way sponsored, although I did use a blogger discount on my order from Kae Q. I’m just genuinely a fan of both of these brands and wanted to share! Kae Q’s lip products are very creamy and easy to apply and surprisingly opaque for what’s marketed as a balm. (Although she has added some sheer balms to her summer lineup that I’m interested in trying as well.) And Baroque’s eyeshadow formula is a shimmery, easy to blend delight. Her colors can be a bit on the sheer side for some, but I like it because it makes me feel ethereal and glowy when I wear them.

Have you tried Baroque or Kae Q? Are you planning on picking anything up in either sale?

Leave a Reply

