FOTD: Lavender Lips

lavender lips big There was a bright lips thread over at Indie Island of Misfits, so I decided to join in with today’s look. Usually when I think bright lips, I think bold reds, oranges and magentas, but I’ve gotten so much more comfortable wearing those that I decided to do something a little different and went with a bright lavender.

lavender lips look The pastel base of this seemed very 60s to me, so I decided to do light eyeliner and mascara on my lower lashes ala Twiggy. Except less so, because I am not much of one for lower lash mascara.

lavender lips shadowsEyes:

  • Shiro He Loves His Hammer
  • Blackbird Smudge
  • Hello Waffle Whale Hello There
  • Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Intense Black
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Cuff
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Sephora Collection Outrageous Curl Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Mineralize Moisture Foundation in NC20
  • Benefit Boi-ing Concealer in 1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Shiro Potion
  • Baroque Mucha Ado About Nothing

Lips:

  • Kae Q Passionflower
  • Firebird Strawberry Tangerine lip balm

I started by priming my lids as I always do. Then I patted He Loves His Hammer, a really interesting shimmery reddish pewter, all over my lids. I deepened my crease with Smudge, a matte grey. I put some beneath my lower lashes as well. I lined my upper lids with winged black liquid liner and my lower waterline with sparkly silver pencil liner. I mascaraed both my upper and lower lashes. I finished my eyes with a touch of Whale Hello There, a light cool purple, in the inner corners. I did my foundation, concealer and powder, and put on a layer of Potion, a berry blush. It seemed too cool with the rest of the look so I layered Mucha Ado About Nothing, a warmer rose, on top of it. I started my lips with a layer of my waxiest base lip balm and used a doefoot applicator to smooth a layer of Passionflower, a bright lavender, over the top.

I think this turned out kind of retro and fun. I was a little hesitant that Passionflower wouldn’t work on me, but I actually like it. It’s never going to be an all the time color for me, but I do think it’s fun.

Leave a Reply

