Mars Inspired Look for IMAM Planet Collaboration

mars big Some of us over on r/indiemakeupandmore decided to do a collaboration based on planets. I chose Mars as my planet. Mars is obviously the red planet, and when I think of it, I think of dusty dry red/orange rocks, so I did a mostly matte look with a lot of reds and red orange. mars wearable look I initially did a more avant garde version sans the winged liner, but it was a bit too in your face red without anything to balance it out. So I added some winged liner to make it a touch more wearable. mars close up w A close up of the eye make up, side by side with an inspiration picture I found when googling Mars. mars wearable glassesRed glasses for a red planet look! I’m really shocked by just how much the glasses tone things down. Mars productsEyes:

  • Blackbird Fire Pledge
  • Blanche Neige Little Mermaid
  • Notoriously Morbid Boca Del Infierno
  • Hello Waffle Cortexiphan
  • Life’s Entropy Brow Theory in Blonde
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Sephora Collection Outrageous Curl Mascara
  • Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Dark Brown

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Blackbird Magic Trick Super Powder in Translucent
  • Blackbird Beau

Lips:

  • Kae Q Sapodilla
  • Kae Q Mango

Before I did my eyes I applied foundation and set it with powder. Then I started my eye make up by applying primer to my entire eye area, including under my lashes. I patted Fire Pledge, a matte red orange, all over my lids, up past my crease. I applied it more heavily down near my lashes and more lightly as I went up. I dabbed what was left on my brush under my lower lashes. Then I used a fluffy angled brush to apply Little Mermaid, a slightly orangey red with a touch of shimmer, to my crease. I used a liner brush to apply Boca Del Infierno, a matte burgundy red, to my upper and lower lashlines. I used a small brush to apply a dot of Cortexiphan, a red satin, to my inner corners, like a highlight except red. I used a fluffy blending brush to blend around the edges of my eyeshadow. I blended out the edges a lot. I applied mascara and was going to leave it at that, but it was a bit too out there so I added brown liquid liner on both my upper and lower lashlines with a small wing at the corner. I filled in my brows as well. For my cheeks I used Beau, a sort of reddish brown matte eyeshadow, and picked a tiny bit up with my contour blush and blended it into my cheeks as a combo blush/contour. Then for my lips I started with a base of Sapodilla, my perfect nude, and dotted Mango, an orangey red, on top and blended them with my fingers.

If you’re interested in seeing what everyone else came up with, you can check out the other planetary looks here.