FOTD: Darling Girl Summer Look

dg summer big As I’ve mentioned before, each month Darling Girl has a contest on their facebook page. To enter, you post a look based on that month’s theme using Darling Girl products. This month’s theme was summer, and this is the look I came up with.

DG summer lookI was going for a sand and water look with my eyeshadow, but I don’t have a true turquoise from Darling Girl, and Lucky pulled greener than I remembered it. Oh well. I also added a bit of pink, because summer should be colorful.

dg summer productsEyes:

  • Darling Girl Bubbles
  • Darling Girl That’s a Big Twinkie
  • Darling Girl Lucky
  • Darling Girl Tit Punch
  • Darling Girl Superstar Serum
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Intense Black
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Perversion
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Benefit Boi-ing Concealer in 1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Benefit Cha Cha Tint

Lips:

  • Fyrinnae Meloncholy
  • Firebird Strawberry Tangerine lip balm

I started by priming my lids. Then I applied Bubbles, a light cream/tan with a blue green sheen, all over my lid. I used That’s a Big Twinkie, a matte tan, in my crease. I lined my upper lashline with black liquid liner and winged it out. I patted Lucky, a white with green shimmer that’s designed to pop over a black base, on top of the liner. However, it didn’t show up as much as I wanted it to, so I went over the line (but not the wing) with pencil liner and patted more Lucky on top. Then I mixed Tit Punch, a bright pink, with Superstar Serum and applied it to my lower lashline with an angled liner brush. I applied mascara and did my usual foundation routine, with a double dose of undereye concealer. I used a coral liquid cheek stain, which I blended in with my fingers. I applied a thin layer of Meloncholy, a bright coral lip lustre, over the top of a balm and blended it with my finger to sheer it out a bit.

I love contests and coming up with looks to fit themes, so I had fun with this. If I had to do it again (and I might), I think I’d do a look with more tropical bright eyeshadow, rather than a look that’s heavy on the eyeliner for color.