FOTD: Colorful Grungy Look

colorful grungy big This was one of those looks that sort of developed as it went. I had no plan when I sat down to do my makeup, but then the bright magenta of Red Shoes caught my eye. From there I added green and purple, but it didn’t quite work until I piled on lots of smudgy black liner. I like the way it looks very dark, but if you catch it at the right angle or see me blink, then there’s actually a lot of bright color.

colorful grungy lookOf course dark smudgy eyes call for nude lips.

colorful grungy shadowsEyes:

  • Hello Waffle Red Shoes
  • Hello Waffle Gerda
  • Hello Waffle Chinese Puzzle
  • Hello Waffle JK Meowling
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Perversion
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Mars
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in LIght
  • Notoriously Morbid Sadist

Lips:

  • Kae Q Sapodilla

I started by priming my lids and then applied Red Shoes, a bright magenta, to the inner half of my lids. I applied Gerda, a shimmery purple, to the outer half, overlapping in the middle. Then I used a fluffy angled brush to layer Chinese Puzzle, a dark green, over the purple in the outer corner. The green wasn’t showing up as much as I liked, so I patted JK Meowling, a shimmery greenish turquoise, over the top, bringing it down and in over the purple. I lined my upper lashes heavily with black pencil liner and smudged it out with a brush. I ran the brush underneath my lower lashes to transfer the liner that was left on the bristles there. I also used the liner on the brush to darken the outer corners, bringing it up slightly into the crease. Then I lined my lower waterline with a shimmery dark green liner. I applied mascara as well. I did my face with foundation, concealer and powder and applied Sadist, a magenta blush, along my cheeks with a contour blush. I blended it in with a clean blush brush. I finished the look with Sapodilla, a nude beso balm that I applied with a doefoot applicator.

I don’t wear grungy messy eyeliner often, but when I do, I always enjoy it. I like pairing it with the colorful shadow. And Sapodilla is my perfect nude lip color. I love it with dark eye looks.