FOTD: Coral and Green

coral green big I never would have thought to put coral and green together in an eye look, but it’s the theme for a new subreddit I joined, and they looked really nice together, so I thought I’d give it a go. Guess what? They look really nice together on my face too. Guess what else? I’m an enormous dork sometimes.

Coral green look I really, really like this look though.

coral green productsEyes:

  • Baroque Walking on Air
  • Shiro Gelato Beach (blush)
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Mars
  • Benefit Stay Don’t Stray in Light/Medium
  • Buxom Lash Mascara

Face:

  • Lancome Teint Miracle in Buff 4C
  • Benefit Boi-ing in 1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer in 1
  • Blackbird Magic Trick Super Powder in Translucent
  • Shiro 1-Up

Lips:

  • Life’s Entropy Apoptosis

First I primed my eyelids. Then I patted Walking on Air, a light pinky orange, all over my mobile lids. I used a different brush to deepen the outer corners with Gelato Beach, a bright coral pink eye-safe blush. Then I lined all the way around my eyes with a shimmery dark green liner, including my waterlines. I used a smudge brush to smudge out the liner, working it up into my crease at the outer corners. The end of the green was a bit abrupt and I had too much liner on my smudge brush, so I went over the end of the green with the eyeshadow brush I’d used for the orange. I mascaraed my lashes, and applied foundation, a double whammy of concealer and setting powder. I used a light coral pink blush and filled in my lips with a bright orangey pink lip theory using a brush. I didn’t want the color to be as intense as possible, so I applied it in a very thin layer.

Have you ever seen a color pairing somewhere and thought “hey, those look nice? let me put it on my face!” or is that just me? What’s the most unexpected color pairing you’ve tried? Did it work out?