FOTD: Black and Gold Eyeshadow

black and gold big I have a few AFK eyeshadows that I picked up in a destash a while back and hadn’t gotten around to trying out yet. It’s a kind of random assortment of colors, so I wasn’t quite sure what to do with them, and wound up do a flared out black and gold look. I wound up using Baroque’s I’d Hate Toulouse You on both my cheeks and lips as well. I think it makes a really nice lip color, even if my application leaves something to be desired.

black gold look Darknessssss was a little bit tricky to use. I took a lot of blending and a couple layers to get it to show up as dark as I wanted and even then, it’s not as even as I’d like. But I’m pretty sure it’s been/is being reformulated. But AFK’s closed at the moment, so I can’t go check.

black and gold shadowEyes:

  • AFK Solar Flare
  • AFK Darknessssss
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Stila Smudgestick in Stingray
  • Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Face:

  • MAC Face and Body in N1
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light
  • Benefit The Porefessional
  • Benefit Watt’s Up
  • Baroque I’d Hate Toulouse You

Lips:

  • Baroque I’d Hate Toulouse You
  • Lush Honey Trap

I started this look by priming my eyelids. Then I applied Solar Flare, a gold, all over my mobile lids. I applied Darknessssss, a blackish dark color, to the outer corner over the gold. I blended it down and in towards the middle and flared it up at the outer corner as well. I used a fluffy blending brush to blend the two together. Darknessssss wasn’t very opaque, so I had to apply a couple layers to get it darker. I brought a little bit of it under my lower lashes as well. The gold on my lower lashline was actually fallout, but I decided I liked it there, so I tidied it up and left it. I tidied up around the edges of the black as well. I lined my eyes with black pencil liner and applied mascara. I actually wore face primer today, mostly out of curiosity. I basically smeared it all over my face with me fingers before I applied my foundation (with a brush), my concealer (with my fingers) and powder (also with a brush). I used a blush brush to apply I’d Hate Toulouse You, a reddish blush, which I blended into the skin with a clean blush brush. I also applied a little bit of a golden highlight to the tops of my cheeks and blended it with my fingers. I decided to use I’d Hate Toulouse You on my lips as well. I exfoliated my lips (but not quite well enough, since I missed a patch of dry skin), then applied a thick layer of waxy lip balm. I used a brush to pat the blush on top of the balm and my finger to even things out. I didn’t do the best job applying it evenly, but I do think it makes a nice lip color.

This look makes me feel like I should be going to a Tiger’s hockey game. The goldenrod base of Solar Flare matches their colors pretty well. I feel like my application wasn’t quite on point today, but I enjoy what I came up with anyways.